Introduce Yourself

Home Forums Cambridge Saxophone Forum Introduce Yourself

This topic contains 8 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Dan Forshaw 2 years, 9 months ago.

• Author

Dan Forshaw
    Keymaster

Use this topic to introduce yourself. How long have you been playing the saxophone? What do you hope to achieve? What’s the biggest challenge you face playing the saxophone.

mcnixon96
    Participant

Hello! I’m Matt, and I’ve been playing saxophone for about seven years. I’m mostly interested in playing jazz, so I suppose my main target is to be able to improvise with better fluency and have enough vocabulary from transcription and practicing licks that I can play a convincing live jazz set. I’m studying for a maths degree among other commitments at the moment so my main challenge is finding practice time – it’s so important to keep up with scales and tonal exercises as it’s very frustrating when you find yourself having to work on things you once found easy!

therunninghead
    Participant

Hi, I’m David. I’ve been playing tenor for nearly three years. My plan is to grow old disgracefully by playing lots of music with lots of people and having bucketfuls of fun along the way.

I’m in love with the instrument, mostly for the pleasure of playing things I remember I once couldn’t play. Sometimes I fall out of love with it, usually because I’m banging against the wall of the things I find difficult. Then I try and look calmly at what I need to do to get through, work round, move on up, get down …

My biggest challenge is improvising. I’m addicted to notation; at the opposite end of the unreality principle I imagine my solos searing into musical convention like a griddle and pink steak. Somewhere in between I’m a 59-year-old baby trying to babble the language of jazz …

Kimk
    Participant